Time Management; Work – Life Balance; a note from your friendly Career Coach.

In today’s day and age, we do feel overwhelmed. Or should I say ‘I’ felt overwhelmed.

I felt overwhelmed by doing too much (also unfortunately we are being bombarded by a lot of information all the time). I am sure a lot have said that before me and have detailed in scrutiny and thorough research this topic before. However a lot are going through it now. And far from being perfect myself, this post is to share and hopefully give a few coaching insights I had and hopefully some tips for all those struggling with this out there – as an idea for re-centering and calming down in the daily chaos where we feel that time is fleeting too quickly due to the ‘too much happening’.

I am passionate about my life, my family, my friends, my work and discovering my country and the world (naturally). I have a lot of entrepreneurial ideas but also carry too much on my plate. Being an keen ‘lifer’, I also and still love to check out every event around that I could, see as many people as I could, complete as many projects and all that with a big smile and lots of energy.

However my energy, after many many years of overload and overflow, started to show some tiring signs. My love for life and activities has not lessened but I started to feel I wasn’t enjoying all things fully and wanted to take things slower and remember the events I have been to; look forward to seeing the people I wanted to see.

All this activity never felt like work. It was all in pleasure that I had spent many evenings and weekends working; living life to the fullest and also hanging out with our crowds of loved ones. The passion that I have for life is undeniable.

I was stuck on the fast track and didn’t want to miss any event. By nature, I am an achiever and a multi-tasker (not always a good idea and researches have been showing it’s an asset but has a double edge sword). But I started to see that this was getting the best of me and the process of calming and cleansing that I much needed has been launched a few years ago. However like any behaviour or habit, this takes practice, follow up and follow through (quite important).

I read in an article that inspired me in my search that life is not a sprint but a marathon. Yes, we all read that “it’s the journey that matters” but it truly does. It’s not wrong to have goals but too many goals can cause overwhelm. And having a big plan without breaking down into small achievable steps can also take us there as well.
Success and sustainability comes with time, proper grooming and a clear vision. This is the proper way to build things, nothing comes overnight. Naturally life happens and some plans are derailed or change, others might show up but clarity is key to keep us focused every now and then.

It’s ok to start saying no – even if it’s a great event, outing, meet up or opportunity – if it is not in accordance with your life and schedule thus saving your sanity and keeping a realistic work/life balance. I find that when I say no to one opportunity, a better one presents itself down the road.

Also an important video I happened to view that tickled my interest was ‘The Paradox of Choice’ by Barry Schwartz. It tackles such an interesting topic that we are so overwhelmed by so many options, disappointment comes with it. Check it out by clicking on the name highlighted (it will take you to the link).

To close this blog post on a positive note, I will be working on sharing in the upcoming posts, tips and steps that help for managing one’s time, life and work balance along with some career notes and positive ideas to surf through a healthy living and embrace a happy life.

I am so looking forward for you to your feedback and thoughts and stay tuned for the next posts!

Until next time, have a great day and weekend!

 

Marie-Christine.

IMG_1387

Leave a Reply

